Defining Custom Roles
Custom roles allow you to create customized user permissions and workflows. This customization is only available on Enterprise plans.
👉To learn about our standard roles and permissions, click here.
You can define new custom roles that have any, or all, of the below permissions:
- Publish/unpublish content - can publish or unpublish content entries
- Edit designs - can edit styles from the style tab
- Admin - can manage users and billing
- Edit code - can add and edit code within Builder (such as custom HTML, CSS, JS)
- Edit layouts - can add, remove, and rearrange blocks. When off users can only edit options like text and images
- Create content - can add new content entries
These permissions can be adjusted at the space level or on a per content model basis. This means you can allow custom roles to only have access to certain models and, within each model, you can apply filters to make the control even more granular based on the fields, data, and targeting properties associated with the model. For example, if you want to use the same model across multiple projects (e.g. domains, locales, and/or environments) within the same space, but only allow certain users to access/view only certain projects using that model, then you can create a custom role to do just that!
Filters allow for a lot of customization when it comes to roles, so if you're looking to create a specific role and have questions, feel free to reach out!
Need Expert help?
Submit a project to our partners, BuildQuick, and be matched with a Builder expert.